Saving money at the supermarket

I love this, it makes me giggle. It all links back to being thrifty, which doesn’t mean having to compromise.

Below is a table lifted from Martins money saving expert  (I am a pirate) showing when supermarkets reduce food (In the UK). I would also add that I have noticed in the past that certain days are more likely to see bigger reductions.

When I lived very close to a supermarket I would accidentally stumble across amazing bargains (probably, I now realise, because it was after 7pm). As a keen cook it often means that I would save massively on expensive ingredients which I would then cook that evening – yummy.  

Supermarket Rough Reductions Schedule
Times will vary by store, but this is rough feedback from store staff
Amount you may be able to save
 
  Up to 25% off
Up to 50% off
Up to 75% and up
 
Asda
12pm
5pm
9pm
 
Morrisons
5pm
7pm
 
Sainburys
10am
5pm
8pm
 
Tesco
8am
4pm
8pm
 
Co-op
8am
5pm
7pm
 
Source: Great ‘supermarket staff, tell us your reduction policies’ hunt.  

These days I tend not to hunt round supermarkets at 8pm instead choosing to shop online. 

Online supermarket shopping has been greatly improved by my supermaket which is brilliant. My supermarket allows you to choose what supermarket you want to shop at, pick a delivery time and then keeps a running tab of how much your shop would be at the other supermarkets. It also offers suggestions for swaps to save money or have fewer calories. There are a few issues for foodies such as if you put in free range chicken it will do a price comparison in the other supermarkets for any chicken, same with organic milk, but hey I can cope.

Having tried all home shopping deliveries would say Ocado is the best – not cheap but I have aldi for the basics – my reasons are as follows

  • 1 hr delivery slot (not rubbish 2 hr slot)
  • they always come in that hour (not like Asda who were an hour late in a two hour slot)
  • they text you 10 mins before coming with name of driver – which means even during the hour wait you can pop out
  • they always seem to have all the goods and substitutions are very rare
  • the drivers always seem happy and helpful
  • they have green delivery slots
  • they deliver the next day
  • finally my nearest store is 10 miles away so they are cheaper delivering than me going there!

Worst was Asda which is a pity as they are often the cheapest – reason being

  • bad delivery times
  • substitutions are many – which means rifling through your shopping on the doorstep whilst they re scan it ( every time I ask for no substitutions but they always do) and also often means you have to go somewhere else to buy what you ordered so wastes time.
  • Bad substitutions –  no fresh thyme so they offered me fresh basil.
  • drivers all tell you that it not their fault (despite me not blaming anyone) and that asda are just rubbish (great staff training and motivation!) 
If you order branded goods rather than ingredients then I would still use Asda as they are cheaper, Tesco and sainsbury are both okay not bad for delivery or substitutions (but not great)  maximum points for Ocado.

Have also tried Natooraand they were very good and exciting (more farmers market experience) and will definitely order form them for a dinner party or Christmas. Slight niggle with them was the amount of packaging – kept everything safe but filled my green bin with packaging! 

Leave a comment

Filed under Cheap, food, Shop, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

